Attack of the Shiny New Idea

BunnySomething that every write experiences while working on a project is the attack of a shiny new idea. Whether it is a dream, or something inspires you while you are driving down the road, one way or another you will have an amazing idea for a new story, but what are you suppose to do? You can’t simply stop working on your current project or you’ll never get a book written, but that new idea is calling out to you like a siren. It is simply sitting there, begging to be written.

There are a few ways to handle this, but I will go over the two main methods that I have used to combat the shiny new idea’s call. The first method I have personally tired is the brain dumping method. Basically I allow myself to sit down for an hour or two and get everything out of my system in a brain dump. Once I am done with the brain dump, I put my notes away onto my Google Drive until I am ready to start on it. The important thing to remember with this method it that once your hour or two is done then you need to put it away, so to use this method you do have to have some form of self control. I would say that roughly 90 percent of my new ideas end up like this, but during Camp NaNoWriMo this past month, I decided to try something different.

I tried treating the new idea as a reward system. If I could hit my word count for the day, then I allowed myself to work on my shiny new idea. As someone who doesn’t tend to do well with rewards, I found that this was actually quiet motivating. I found myself getting my word count completed as quickly as possible so that I could work on the outline for my new idea. I believe that this would work great for plotters, or people who are capable of working on two projects at the same time.

So those are the two methods that I use to deal with those random plot bunnies that tend to pop up from time to time. After trying to reward method during Camp NaNoWriMo, I found that I certainly prefer the brain dumping method, since I barely have enough time to write, much less trying to outline another project as well.

How do you deal with those pesky plot bunnies? Leave a comment below letting me know!

And until next time, see you then!

Leave a Reply

