Recent Reads

As I was thinking about what I was going to write for this weeks blog, I realized something, I haven’t written a post about books in months! Now, this is mostly because I simply haven’t read that many books this year. Either way, though I decided that perhaps it was time for me to make a quick post about what I have read so far this year.

So, let’s just jump right in!

inferno-cover

Inferno by Dan Brown

I started this book back in December but finished it in January so I am including it in the books that I have read this year. I did do an entire review on this book which you can check out HERE, but to quickly summarize it I really liked this book! I have been a huge fan of Dan Brown since the release of The DaVinic Code movie, and out of all of his books, this is easily my second favorite (the first being The Lost Symbol). While it is a little slow early on in the story, the ending really picks up, and it ends with a plot twist that will have you screaming “WTF?”.

 

The Hobbit book

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

So if you have been on the blog for a while, then you will already know that this is one of my favorite books of all time; however, I hadn’t read it all the way through since I was in high school so I decided to re-read it again this year. I will say that while I certainly thought it was slower than I remember as a child listening to the audiobook really helped and as we got to the ending I began to remember the joy I felt following Bilbo on his adventure with Thorin’s company.

 

how-to-be-bawse
How to Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life by Lilly Singh

This was one of the books that I was super excited about being released this year. Lilly Singh, also known as IISuperWomanII on Youtube, is someone I have been following for about four years now and when I heard she was releasing a book I couldn’t wait to read it. Now I was a little concerned since I don’t usually tend to like self-help books, but once again I listened to the audiobook (which was narrated by Lilly herself) and I absolutely loved it! Lilly’s writing is just as funny and heart-warming as her videos and I will be going back to buy the physical book.

Those are the three books that I have read this year. It is nowhere near the number of books that I want to have read, but I am determined to work on trying to read more often.

What books have you read so far this year? Leave it in the comment section below, and let me know which one was your favorite.

And until next time, see you then!

Leave a Reply

