March Wrap Up and April Goals

March Wrap UpSo march turned out to be a pretty bad writing month for me. I only managed to write just a little over 4,000 words, putting my current work in progress just under 15,000 words. I am not to worried about this however, since there was a pretty good reason as to why I didn’t get a whole lot of writing done in March. About half way through the month I started getting really bad carpal-tunnel in my right hand, so I knew that I just wouldn’t be able to hand write my novel like I had originally planned. So instead of writing new words I spent the last half of march typing up what I had already written into a Scrivener.

That being said I really want to get a lot of writing done in the month of April and I thought, what better way to get tons of writing done then to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo?

For those of you that may be unaware of what NaNoWriMo is, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month and is a yearly challenge where the participants attempt to write 50,000 words during the month of November. Now for Camp NaNoWriMo, which takes place during April and July, you can actually pick your own word counts goals for the month. For April I decided that I wanted to hit 50,000 words on my current work in progress, and that puts my word count goal for April at 35,000 words. That is about 1,166 words a day, which is almost double my word count for the past couple of months.

Right now we are five days into April and I am sad to say I am already a little bit behind; however, I am off the next few day so I will (hopefully) have plenty of time to catch up on my goals and get a huge chunk of my novel written this month.

I know this post is a little short, but I have to get back to writing, so if you are participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this year, what are you working on and what are your goals for the month? And until then, see you next time!

Leave a Reply

