Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Hello again everybody!

Today I am actually posting a Top 5 Wednesday prompt that I wasn’t able to finish in time to post last week. The prompt was “Top 5 Books to get you out of a reading slump”. Real quick I am just going to tell everyone that this is a pretty bias, but these are books that I have read to get me out of a reading slump. So lets just dive straight on in.

1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

So this one I am putting first, because I feel like this is a pretty standard go to for people trying to get out of a reading slump. Specifically the first three books, which are the shortest in the series. I don’t think I really need to explain this one to most people, so lets just move on.

thelightningthief2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

This one may be debatable since I find that this series tends to be hit or miss for most people; however, personally that humor and fast pace of these books are exactly what I need when I find longer and more dense books are putting my into the reading slump.

3. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

What I like most about this book in particular is the way The Graveyard book is broken up. Each chapter is like a little short story in and of itself making this really great for someone who just wants to read a chapter at a time to get back into the habit of reading everyday. That paired with the fantastic cast of characters, and whimsical storying telling will suck you right in for an adventure of a life time.
4. The Vampire Kisses Series by Ellen Schrebier

If you haven’t guessed by now, my favorite books to go to when in a reading slump are usually short and light hearted, and nothing captures that better than these books. These books tend to be less than 300 pages long and has a simple and cozy take on the vampire/human romance plot.

fullmetal-alchemist5. Any Manga or graphic novels

So this isn’t so much a specific books as much as it is a grouping of books. Graphic novel are, once again, short and easy to read in one sitting, making them perfect to read when your not in the mood to read. Not only that but graphic novels offer a wide range of genres and story line for you to pick from, meaning that there is literally something out their for everyone.
And there you have it my top 5 books to read to get you out of a reading slump. As I mentioned before, whenever I am having trouble with finding the motivation to read I try and stick with smaller books, as they are easier to read than something that is long and extremely dense, which can make me not want to read even more.

What are your favorite books to read when you’re in a reading slump? As always don’t forget to check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads page by clicking HERE,  and until next time see you then!

Leave a Reply

