February Writing Update

So we are now just halfway through February and I figured that now would be as good a time as any to update you on how my current work in progress is coming along so far.

To start off my current project is a young adult high fantasy novel in the same veins as Eragon, and follows the story of Alexandra and her friend Nissa as they struggle to find the inner strength to protect their family while also helping to save their country with ancient magic. As someone who grew up with stories by The Hobbit, and naturally Eragon itself it is only natural that my first serious project would also be high fantasy.

There are a number of new things I am doing with this novel, then first being that I am writing the first draft completely by hand using my Pilot Metropolitan fountain pen. Now I have written stories by hand before, but it was usually short stories and I haven’t done it since I was in high school. The portability has certainly been a life saver with working a job that currently takes up most of my time and rarely ever being home. I also find that writing things down by hand helps with writing. The story just seems to flow out easier when being channeled through a pen. That being said I am still not quite where I want to be with my writing, but I am still proud of the progress I have made so far. My goal for the month is 14,000 words, and as of right now I am at almost 6,000 words.
fiction-trackerI think one of the other tools that have been super helpful has been my word count tracker. I got the idea for this from watching Kara’s video over at Boho Berry and I plan on going into more detail in another post, but basically it gives me an overview of how much I am writing in a single day, and how much I have written during the month overall. Also, I have been enjoying coloring in the boxes on the opposite side whenever I hit a word count marker.

Basically this month been pretty hit or miss, but I am three chapters in and am determined to hit my goal before the end of the month. I hope you enjoyed this little writing update from me. I might try to have one at the end of February, but I’m not sure yet.

If you have any writing goals, feel free to leave them in the comments, and let everyone know where you are with your goal so far.

And until next time, see you then!

Leave a Reply

