My Writing Bullet Journal

I have always preferred plotting my novel by hand, finding that the ideas came to me a lot easier when writing with pen and paper. I used those large 5 subject notebooks to jot down all of my ideas from character profiles to plot ideas; however, I always ended up with a mess that was difficult for me to find any information that I would be looking for, leading to endless frustration on my part.

Enter the bullet journal.

Now if you have never heard of a bullet journal I will direct you to Ryder Carrol’s website where he details exactly what it is and how to use it, but essentially it is a planning system using an old fashion notebook and pen to keep track of events and tasks.

I started bullet journaling on and off towards the end of 2015 after hearing someone mention having one in their NaNoWriMo Survival Kit. I loved the idea of getting to create a costume planner that could house everything I could possibly need; however, I didn’t consider using it for organizing my novel information until Kara over at Boho Berry on YouTube posted a video detailing the bullet journal that she had set up for NaNoWriMo in 2016. I quickly began brainstorming how I could make a writing bullet journal that served my purposes and thus here we are.writing-bullet-journal

To start off I am using a fairly cheap Markings journal that was on sale at my local Staples. I had debated for some time whether I wanted to get a Moleskine, similar to the one I had for my everyday bullet journal, but I quickly realized that I didn’t need something that was gridded, and didn’t want something too expensive since I don’t have intentions on keeping these once I am done with them. So I got two of them and got started.

Like with every bullet journal the first thing we have is an index where I can keep track of what is on each page. To make it easier to find what I am looking for, I decided to color code each item based on what it is. General collections are in black, anything plot related is in pink, characters are in blue and world building is in green.index

Next, I have a checklist for the snowflake method so that I can keep track of which step I am on and what I still need to do. On the pages following are my notes; character profiles, world building, and plot layouts. I also have a full outline of my novel that I will reference while I am writing.

After all of my outlining pages, I have the month of February. Instead of doing I traditional monthly log like in my everyday bullet journal I decided to use my monthly pages to keep track of my daily word count and monthly total. Again this was something that I pulled from Kara over at Boho Berry who used A similar spread in her NaNoWriMo bullet journal.february-tracker

I haven’t decided yet whether I am going to do any kinds of daily updating in my bullet journal. I don’t really need daily entries since most of my scheduled writing time is written in my everyday bullet journal. I have been thinking of doing daily journaling entries to detail how my writing goes each day, but I haven’t decided if that is something I want to do.

So I am curious as to whether or not anyone else out there has a writing bullet journal and if you do what do you have in it? If you’re interested in making a writing bullet journal then I would definitely recommend checking out Boho Berry over on YouTube which you can get to back clicking HERE.

Also, don’t forget to check out the original bullet journal over on Ryder Carrol’s website by clicking HERE.

And as always I will see you next time!

Leave a Reply

