NaNoPrep #1: The Brain Dump

So it is that time of year again; NaNoWriMo is right around the corner and writers across the world are pulling out their favorite writing utensils to prepare for the next month of writing craziness.

In honor of this yearly writing tradition, I decided to go over a few ways I am prepping for NaNoWriMo this month. The first critical step for me is to get all of those ideas floating around in my head and getting them down onto paper in a process known as brain dumping.

As it sounds Brain dumping is nothing more than taking any stray thought in your head; anything that may or may not be important. At this point you don’t want to worry about the order of the information, just get it written down!

You can collect all of these ideas in a number of ways. For me I like to use either a dedicated collection in my bullet journal; or the notepad on my phone if I am somewhere writing on paper isn’t an option. You can also uses cloud site such as Google Docs, or Evernote to keep all of your information in a handy place you can access from anywhere.

moleskien

My purple Moleskin that I use for any random writing.

So once you have all the information gathered you can do one of two things. A panster, can just leave this brain dump as is and use it as a jumping point if you get stuck over the course of November. A planner (like me), can take that information and organize it into a linear timeline that you can refrence during the outlining stage.

undertale-brain-dump

My brain dump after it has been put in order. I use just a basic notepad program on my computer.

I took the random notes I had taken in my moleskien and organized them into some semblance of a linear storyline. Any scenes I may have written already are put in bold italic to make it easier to see when I add them to the outline.

If you want more information about brain dumping in general I would definitely recommend checking out Alexis AKA misstrenchcoats video over on YouTube. There she talks about brain dumping in reguards to planning, but I found that it was definitely helpful for me as a writer.

CHECK OUT MISSTRENCHCOATS VIDEO HERE.

So I would definitely recommend whether you are a pantser or a planner that you do some form of brain dump just to help you along during your monthly adventure into writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

Over the course of October I will be making more posts where I go over my method of preping for NaNoWriMo this year. If you are participating in NaNoWriMo this year, then what are you working on and how are you preparing, and if you are not participating in NaNoWriMo, then what are you currently working on?

Until then, see you next time!

4 thoughts on “NaNoPrep #1: The Brain Dump

  1. kirstyandthecatread says:

    I have been preparing for NaNoWriMo for a couple of months now and I’m so excited. I write in my journal and then type the notes up in some kind of coherent order or I will email myself ideas and keep then sub folder 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

