Quarterly Goals: Summer 2016

So about a year ago I discovered the lovely Jenna Moreci, author of Eve the Awakening, over on YouTube where I was introduced to her version of monthly/yearly goals, which were quarterly goals. For those of you not familiar with quarterly goals, you basically divide the year up into four quarters with each quarter consisting of three months, and you have those three months to complete your goal list. I instantly fell in love with this idea and began implementing it; however, I felt like something was missing.

Granted I have achieved a lot thanks to these goals, but I have always felt like if I didn’t complete them then it wasn’t that big of a deal, or worse I would change my goals in the middle of the quarter and only get maybe one or two of the original goals completed!

Then it hit me, I needed to do something that was going to hold me responsible for achieving my goals. Something that would make me stick to my guns and get shit done. So while Jenna (and a few others) post their goal lists to YouTube, I have decided to make a post here on my blog for the entire world to see. This way if I don’t completely my goals then I run the risk of public humiliation. Yay!

This quarter I have sixteen goals all of which I am going to list except for one which is extremely personal and something I am not willing to share, so lets get started.

  1. Finish the first draft of Winslow Asylum
  2. Complete first round of revision on Winslow Asylum.

For those of you who read my last post, you will already know a little bit about this particular project, and for those of you who haven’t Winslow Asylum is my Camp NaNoWriMo project for the month of July, and I am hoping to complete the first draft during camp this month so that I can take August off from it and begin revisions in September. Hopefully the first round of revision won’t take more than a month, but we will see when it gets here.

  1. Finish the first draft of my special Wattpad project
  2. Complete revisions for my special Wattpad project.

So this is a second project that I am hoping to finish this quarter, and while it may seem like a lot to try and finish two projects in three months this particular project is actually almost complete (like 85-95% done), so I should be able to blow through this pretty quickly. A lot of this has already been edited as well, so it should be super easy to complete in a month or two.

  1. Begin outlining my next project.

I hope that by now it is beginning to become obvious just how much I like to keep myself busy. I have already done my brain dump for this idea, and I’ve done a few character profiles for the main characters. Basically all I need to do is break the story down into scenes, and finish up the character profiles.

  1. Take my dog on a walk 3 times a week
  2. Drink 64 ounces of water a day.

These obviously aren’t writing related, but are definitely some goals that I am going to work hard to complete this quarter. Ever since I was a child I have been a plus size girl; however, I have recently begun experiencing a number of health issue due to my weight, and have decided that I want to start making a change before it get to bad. It may not seem like a lot, but I want to take baby steps to make sure this sticks, rather than jumping head first into a diet plan that I am going to quick in a week.

  1. Begin learning French

I guess that this should actually be worded ‘Begin re-learning French’, since I did take French in both high school and my freshman year in college; however, even back then I was really bad at it and after almost 4 years I have completely forgotten everything I learned.

  1. Read 12 Books

So this one is pretty self-explanatory, and also one that I have been seriously failing at this year. Hopefully this quarter will be better.

  1. Finish making plans for vacation
  2. Continue with wedding plans
  3. Spend time with my fiancé at least once a week.

So little known fact, I am actually getting married soon! Not only that, but my fiancé and I are planning our first trip as a couple to Myrtle Beach this quarter and I am super excited; however with how busy my fiancé is with work, I want to make sure that I spend what little time I get with him. I know, I am a hopeless romantic.

  1. Learning Marketing on twitter
  2. Learn marketing on Instagram
  3. Post on blog regularly.

Hey, one I am working on right now! These last three goals mostly have to go with my blog and learning how to market not only it, but also how to market my writing using some of my favorite platforms. Marketing a business is not something that I am familiar with, so it should be interesting to see what I learn.

So there you go my list of goals for this quarter (minus the extremely personal one of course). Sorry if this blog was super. I literally spent the last week trying to figure out how to word this, before just deciding that I needed to just post the darn thing.

If you want to check out my review of Eve the Awakening by Jenna Moreci to can find it under the book reviews tab above, or you can head straight there by clicking HERE.

What are some of your goals for this year/quarter/month, and how have they been coming along so far? Leave a comment below and I will see you next time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

