The Merciless by Danielle Vega

MercilessForgive us, Father, for we have sinned

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .


Plot

Oh. My. God! This book was nothing like I was expecting it to be, but I’ll start off with the beginning first.

So The Merciless did start off kind of slow as we are introduced to our victims, and I want to start off my saying that the beginning does come off as kind of cliché, especially with the dead cat behind the bleachers, but that changes quickly.

Once they have actually entered the house and begin with the ‘exorcism, that is where things really start to pick up, and the entire time I was reading it, I couldn’t help but get flash backs to The Craft. (Which if you don’t know, is a really good movie about witches)! Not that, that is a bad thing, especially since personally I love that movie, and the ending! I can’t say to much without giving the ending way by I absolutely loved this ending though I do wish Danielle would write more about Sofia!


The World

There isn’t a whole lot of world building in this novel, which is a bit of a shame. One of the greatest aspects to a horror story is the setting in which the story takes place, and in the Merciless it is kind of lacking. Especially since you have a small town in the midwest, I mean there are so many possibilities and it is sad that really the only place we see is the abandoned house where the exorcism takes place.


The Character

While Danielle Vega may be the queen at writing horror, for the most part her characters are pretty flat characters. They remained me a lot of the characters from Pretty Little Liars, they are not really a person outside of what is going on in the story.

For Railey, who is a pretty major character in the story, we see a little bit of her past, but we don’t really see why she is the way she is. The same could be said for Alexis, while Grace they do go a little bit more into her story, it still isn’t enough for me to really care about her.

Not that all of the characters are like that. Sofia herself is somewhat of an interesting character, if a little too passive for her role in the story, and Brooklyn was a very interesting character, especially towards the end of the book.


three-star-ratingOverall I gave this story I three out of five stars. I really liked it, and I would definitely pick up another book by Danielle Vega, it just isn’t the greatest horror story that I have ever read. In fact I think I would put this more under thriller than actually horror, because maybe it is just me, but while I was interested to see what happened to the characters there was way to much blood and gore in the books for me to find it scary. In fact one of my biggest pet peeves is when horror writers think blood=scary. It just doesn’t.

Anyway the plot is interesting, and if you like thrillers with surprised conclusions I would definitely suggest you check this one out!

Leave a Reply

