The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

The Infernal Devices

I really didn’t want to do a complete reviews on The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare simply because I know so many people are already familiar with Cassandra’s Shadow Hunter books. So instead I decided to do a reflection look at what I thought of the series as a whole, so beware possible spoilers.

I want to start off by saying that this is one of the most beautiful trilogies I think I have ever read? In fact perhaps the first thing I noticed about Cassandra’s writing style is that she is very poetic (at least in this trilogy), which really suits this Victorian era novel. The language alone made me feel as though I was reading a classic romance novel written during this time period, and it is amazing that The Infernal Devices are modern literature!

The next thing that quickly caught my attention, was the details that Cassandra put into developing her characters. Not only where the three main character fleshed out in amazing details, but so were all of the side characters. Each was given their own backstory, personality and plot line, that left me wondering what would happen to each of the characters.

Now one thing I heard while I was looking through reviews on this series, was that one person had said that all of the characters getting their happy ending was a little unrealistic, and while I feel that it is true in most cases, I also think that it fits with Cassandra’s style. In many ways The Infernal Devices reminds me of a fairy tale, so the Happily Ever Afters where fitting. Another amazing character had to be the villain, because in the end he wasn’t just a villain. He had a sympathetic backstory that made me feel kinda sorry for him, even if what he was doing was still wrong.

The book references the Cassandra placed throughout the series was absolutely amazing, and something that fans of classic literature will enjoy, though personally I didn’t get some of the references. I did a little bit of research after finishing The Infernal Device, and discovered that this series is actually based (though slightly) off of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Sadly I have never read A Tale of Two Cities, so I wouldn’t know, but it might be interesting for people who have read the book to look at the similarities between them.

I think if I have to find one bad thing to say about The Infernal Devices, it would have to be that in some places it does drag and for some the flowery language could be a little much, but if you are willing to look past all of that Cassandra has written what I would easily call a modern classic, and if you haven’t read it already you should definitely check it out.

One thought on “The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

  1. Night Train Books says:

    TID really is some kind of magic. And I agree with you, A Tale of Two Cities went up massively on my TBR pile after reading TID, but sadly I still haven’t gotten around it. Hopefully soon, sure would be interesting to compare!

    Like

Leave a Reply

